Forums

Do Tesla employees sign in their contract a clause to stay away from Tesla forums?

Do Tesla employees sign in their contract a clause to stay away from Tesla forums?

With the growing number of Tesla employees, their entitlement to Tesla, the passion Tesla cars create, the time they spend in front of a computer or on their cell phone in store, I do not understand why we never see them online giving hints or somewhat helping.

Are they instantly fired as soon as they post on the forums?

EVRider | 25 januar 2020

How do you know they don’t post here?

FactDoc | 25 januar 2020

I have been posting here for 7 years and never saw a post from someone who stated he worked for Tesla or has been working for Tesla whatsoever.

Have you?

lessrandom | 25 januar 2020

There’s probably a clause about speaking publicly about Tesla, and nobody is authorized to speak here. Just guessing.

TeslaTap.com | 25 januar 2020

The problem for any public company is if some random employee states something that is material to the stock price. For example, if an employee said the Model Y was delayed 2 years (a made-up statement), that could affect the stock. The problem is it's not divulged in a valid news way, such as after hours in a press release. This can create all sorts of legal lawsuits and SEC actions. It's hard for a large company with tens of thousands of employees to ensure the information flow is both accurate and done correctly. The easy way is to just stop all employees, except select people, such as Elon and those in the PR department, from making any comments.

Yes, it would be nice to have more communications direct from Tesla, but in our sue-happy world, sadly it's not all that practical.

jordanrichard | 25 januar 2020

Well, just because someone doesn’t state that they work Tesla, doesn’t mean they don’t. Also, anyone associated with Tesla signs a NDA.