Forums

Seat creaking and knocking?

Seat creaking and knocking?

Does anybody have any experience with a creaking or knocking sound coming from both front seats when sitting in them and leaning forwards or back, or just general weight redistribution during driving/accelerating?

It's not a squeaking, it's like there are parts inside that are knocking something.

Thanks for any ideas.

Xerogas | 06. April 2019

@christian: yup, creaking

M3phan | 06. April 2019

Take to SC, they will verify issue and repair or replace. Did mine, no more creaking and popping.

christian | 06. April 2019

Thanks. Is it a while you wait kind of thing? I have no experience with Tesla SCs.

M3phan | 06. April 2019

The SC verified creak, asked me to send a video of my seat making the sound, they sent my video to Fremont to verify whether it required repair or replace. Within a week, Fremont approved replacement of entire seat plus the mounting brackets that go into the floor. Parts ordered, took 2 weeks to arrive. Replacement of new seat was a half day. I drove the car while waiting for new seat, so I was only out for a half day.

hughbie | 06. April 2019

Added feature. Haunted car Easter egg.

OutOfTheStars | 07. April 2019

My m3 awd driver seat was wobbly. It was screwed in to the chassis at an angle. SC took care of it in couple of hours. I walked in to the SC and got it fixed.

gudavallign | 07. April 2019

Yes. I have a very bad squeaky sound from my M3. SC took a video and got it approved by engineers. Waiting for replacement seat.

dhliu | 07. April 2019

I have the creaking that’s gotten unbearable right around 8k mileage. Bringing into the SC this week.

drewallen42 | 08. April 2019

Mine does this as well. I’m curious. Are any of you over 6 feet tall? I took mine in and they moved the seat forward 1/2 inch and it stopped making the noise. My issue looks to be the track clicks/creaks when the seat is all the way back.

M3phan | 08. April 2019