Forums

Tesla Solar/Solar City – WARNING!!! – Before you order your solar and Powerwall

Tesla Solar/Solar City – WARNING!!! – Before you order your solar and Powerwall

Tesla Solar failed to meet our Expectations by promising one thing and delivering another.

I’m a licensed General Contractor (GC) in San Diego, California who works as a Construction Manager for one of the largest real estate groups in the United States.
My only specific request was to NOT HAVE EXPOSED CONDUIT, just like the Tesla advertisements. The sales team agreed, we approved the cost, we received financing and off we went.

The Tesla installer showed up the prior evening of installation and confirmed the installation was going to be performed with no conduits; however, the next day, the same installer starting installing CONDUIT!! They put the conduit everywhere - I’m talking everywhere: a large, ugly 2” pipe running in the front of my house right over my front door!! Might as well have been a red clown nose the size of my front door.

Calling the manager, he stated lies! telling us, “Tesla’s not able to run the electrical conduit in the attic.”

As a general contractor, I knew he was lying. The Tesla’s manager, then threatened “We can stop everyone now” and delay the project. Oh and now they can run the conduit in the attic for an extra $1,700.00. My wife and I both agreed we shouldn’t have to pay, since we had already paid the $45,000 for our system.

As a GC, I wanted to invite folks to my house and promote Tesla Solar. Tesla’s sales representative really dropped the ball, despite our repeated attempts to communicate Tesla Solar did not provide enough information to help the consumer understand what we’re getting. (Your plans should be around 8 pages, don’t accept less!!!)

We’re not out to hurt Tesla Solar, we only wish others who hire Tesla Solar not experience disappointment.