Submitted by Kosta on 20. August 2016
I was wondering if there is a mechanism that would prevent Tesla from rolling back certain options when someone trades in their vehicle for a new one. For example autonomous driving feature. Someone who bought the vehicle originally optioned the vehicle with autonomous driving but has decided to trade it in for a different model. Is there a mechanism that would prevent Tesla from 'removing' it and charging the new owner to reactivate it despite being previously paid for? The same can apply to ludicrous mode and even battery pack from 75 kWh to 60 kWh. While the price of a Tesla would be cheaper the less optioned it is, the reactivation of the same option would be at full+ price therefore allowing Tesla to potentially make more money on the same vehicle/option later on in the vehicles lifetime. Just wondering.