Forums

Model 3 Build Quality?

Model 3 Build Quality?

Recent AutoExpress survey reported that Model S ranked number one overall among cars--pretty amazing for Tesla. The only downside was that Model S ranked 33rd for build quality.

I'm curious if current Tesla owners can comment on this. Has Tesla build quality been improving over the years? And to speculate, do you expect Model 3 to have better build quality than current Teslas?

I've always appreciated nice fit/finish, quality materials, etc. I will be coming from a Lexus, so hopefully the build quality is not huge step down. Thoughts?

krimzon | 02. Mai 2016

I would like to see where Tesla fell to 33rd. Were there any specific details? I was unable to find any.

dd.micsol | 02. Mai 2016

Not notch. Nothing less. My worry about quality is none.

dd.micsol | 02. Mai 2016

errr top notch LOL

krimzon | 02. Mai 2016

I've never owned a Tesla, but I'm sure they're built very well.
I work in the automotive industry. Building a few thousand $135,000.00 cars is entirely different than mass producing half a million a year.
Hopefully they can contain any quality concerns during the model 3 production. I know they have an ambitious goal of making about 400,000 vehicles per year.

jordanrichard | 02. Mai 2016

I wouldn't pay attention to any survey about reliability/glitches on any car. "Reliability" is relative to what one is used to, which leads to what one might report. For example, take a Honda and a VW, having a suspension issue . The Honda owner doesn't mention it because all they care about is that it gets them from point A to B. The VW owner who is more in tune with how their car drives/rides, reports the issue. In this instance the VW would be ranked less reliable.