Forums

Thoughts on Battery Packs, Sizes, Packaging

Thoughts on Battery Packs, Sizes, Packaging

Hello everyone,

My name is Marco. This is my first post on the forums and I am a first time Tesla user since reserving Model 3. A little history about myself, I'm an Aerospace Engineer that specializes in fluid dynamics and aerodynamics of aircraft/spacecraft. This does not give me any special powers of predicting the physical possibilities of the Model 3, but I am here to constructively analyze the Model 3, speculatively of course. I wish I could do it qualitively but unfortunately I do not work at Tesla. (Note to Tesla, if you are hiring any Aerodynamicists, let me know haha)

So like many, I've been giving a lot of thought about the Model 3. I have driven a handful of Model S, and I currently lease a Gen 2 Volt. After listening in to the Q1 Earnings call, I have a lot of confidence in Tesla. However, I'm now dissecting the battery options. What we know is the base Model 3 will have a battery pack less than 60kwH in size. This will deliver an EPA (not Tesla rated), 215 miles (or more) per charge. I think with the CD being closer to .21, and some weight shedding, the Model 3 could approach ~235 miles EPA. With that, I expect real world driving range around 190 miles per charge. This is also for a strictly real wheel drive powertrain and one motor.