Forums

Electrician - Atlanta, GA

Electrician - Atlanta, GA

Hey Everybody,

After I configured on 4/24 I went and bought a Wall Connector (https://shop.tesla.com/ca/en/product/vehicle-accessories/model-s_x_3-wal...).

Then, I went looking for an electrician to put it in. Mind you this is not a technical discussion about electrical requirements... I'm an accountant.

My go-to HVAC, electrical, and plumbing provider is Casteel as I imagine a lot of you may also use. They were my first call, but after reading some reviews and forums I noticed that the prices are all over the place. Since Casteel has a $39 trip charge, I didn't want to pay them for an initial assessment. I called and asked for an idea... Well, let's just say they did not take amazing care of me that day.

So I went to the Tesla website (https://www.tesla.com/support/find-electrician) and saw TE Certified Electricians. One of my partners has dealt with them on electrical issues before, so I called them up and made an appointment. They gave me a 30 minute call-ahead, the technician was great. Now, the price was a little more than I was expecting, but it's more because they obtain permits for all of their Tesla work. They get the necessary permit and take detailed notes and pictures to provide to Tesla in case there is ever any troubleshooting necessary. I don't have to get a new panel, and it will be installed about 15' away from the panel in my garage. The price comes out to right at $900 for installation.

While, Casteel fumbled on what was actually being installed, the TE technician said he has easily installed 50 Tesla chargers. They are installing it this Friday 5/18. I'll post back to let y'all know how it goes. But I hoped this would be a good line of conversation since there are many ATL Teslas still to be delivered.