Model 3

Stealth Mode Location on Mobile App

edited November -1 in Model 3
Just got my new model 3, Yeah!! I'm the primary driver and I paired my phone to the car, for backup I paired my wife's phone. Using the mobile app my wife can now see where I am at all times. This was a feature in the Iphone and I disabled that. I'm a trust worthy guy but any married folks out there know that if this information is available the other half will look.
We need a feature to disable location from connected phones unless the phone belongs to the primary driver.

Help, I'm an engineer open source and I can help build it.

Comments

• edited July 2018
    When I get my car, I will be the -sole- driver of it, so my wife won't be getting the app on her phone.

I'd suggest you simply remove the app from her phone until there is a way to disable it from inside the car...
  • edited July 2018
    Really?? there is no way to disable this feature? I can't let her download the app till it can be disabled.
  • edited July 2018
    You guys must lead more exciting lives than I do. I'm either at work or at hockey, so my wife pretty much knows where I'm at.
  • edited November -1
    @gregscott: If it really bothers you, remove the app from your wife’s phone. You don’t need a “backup” on her phone, but if you feel you need one, then live with the consequences.
  • edited July 2018
    I guess I’m lucky in that I don’t care if my wife knows where I am at all times.

@chintannbhatt: Bonus points for using the “I can’t let her download the app” phrase. Hmmm
  • edited July 2018
    You *can* turn it off from inside the car, but of course, then if your car is stolen, you'll have a harder time locating it, particularly if you forget to turn it back on. And you'll also have a harder time streaming music or downloading updates when they come in, because it's turning off the LTE that disables location view.