Model 3

Tesla Forums are now read only. To continue the conversation with the Tesla community visit engage.tesla.com.

Collision Avoidance-Always on?

Ok, I feel weird asking this, since I've been driving my M3 for 2 months. ;-)

Is collision avoidance always on even when not in any autopilot modes? I feel like I've come up manually on cars that stopped quickly and was way ahead of the car's "brain," if it's on, because I never got any warning and it certainly didn't break for me.

To me, I would love a mode that literally prevents me (as much as physics and the car allow) from hitting an object. I should not be able to drive my car into a wall, period, if this mode was on. The car should see it and automatically brake. I have a feeling, this is not the way it is now.

It almost pushes me to stay in the auto-cruise control since in that mode, it will always look for objects in front of me and break.

So, am I correct in assuming that the car is not always in true "collision avoidant" mode?

Thanks. Maybe I'm wrong. I'm certainly not willing to test it. lol

Comments

• edited September 2018
    I was just wondering about this myself after placing my order this week. I chose to “invest” in EAP and FSD options, but wondered what the collision avoidance or warnings are with AP off. I am hoping there is some type of brake assist now or in the near future even if AP is off. Although I’ll enjoy AP as often as possible, I’m sure it will be unavailable or I’ll forget to activate it at times.
  • edited September 2018