Model S

Used Car Delivery Time - What is Normal

I'm new to Tesla and sort of dipping my toe in by purchasing a pre-owned Model S from Tesla. I found what looks like a very nice car, low mileage, good body and interior via the website. Reviewed all the pictures, e-mailed the sales person, did the deal. Got everything finalized (trade-in, loan, other documentation) on Thursday, December 20. All tasks on my account page at Tesla are completed. Received e-mail from the inside delivery advisory in re-marketing on Thursday, Dec. 20 confirming receipt of documents, blah blah blah. Told me the delivery location (Chicago Wesmont Delivery Center) and said he'd be in contact when the car was available. His closing comment was that it takes about 3 days for the car to be at the delivery center.

My question, why so long? It is a pre-owned car. Car was shown on the Tesla website as being in Chicago. I'm not the most patient person so am wondering why it takes so long for the car to get to the delivery center as I'm assuming the car is physically in the Chicago environs.

I know Tesla has a different sales model, but I can walk into any other dealership and have a used car in 2-3 hours. What is so different about Tesla's model for used car sales? Since I live 5 hours from the Chicago delivery center, I need to do a bit of pre-planning on when to pick up the car.

Regards,
Bryan

Comments

• edited December 2018
    Bryan - 3 days sounds about right. they need time to make sure the car is clean and then to get it to final destination. I would say 3 days is pretty fast by Tesla time! comparing to old school dealerships is comparing apples to oranges. AND, currently Tesla is about as chaotic as they ever get with trying to sell/deliver as many Model 3s before the end of the quarter and before fed tax credit is reduced. so, i wouldnt be surprised if they miss the 3 day commitment by a week or more. My advice - just relax and read the owners manual....
  • edited December 2018