Model 3

Camping with a CPAP Machine

I was wondering if anyone had done this and what kind of inverter (I think that's the correct device) to get to plug in to the 12V in the center console.
I'm new at all this so be gentle. ;)
At 8 hours in Camping mode, anyone know what the drain on the battery would be? I'm thinking of taking a 1000 mile trip and would rather not sleep in a hotel if it can be avoided.
Thanks.

Comments

• How much power does your CPAP machine draw? There are 12V to 120V inverters available but the thing that you want to be careful of is that you don't overload the 12V plug and that you don't drain the battery.
  • Well, just checked the one upstairs. It says [email protected], which is 90W. Normally, when one sees numbers like that, it usually means the typical power draw is a bit less than that, but let's stick with the above.
    Next: You'll have a 12V to 120 VAC inverter. Let's assume that that's 85% efficient, probably not too far off, so power draw from the 12V circuit would be 106W, about 8.8 A at 12V.
    Assume that the car's in Camp Mode and is using its internal high-voltage to 12V inverter to supply the power. Things like this are over 90% efficient, but let's use 90% for fun. 106W/0.9 = 117.8W.
    Now, say you use this for 8 hours. That would be 942 W-hr.
    On a M3 running at 65 mph and getting 250 W-hr/mile, that would be a reduction in range of 3.77 miles.
    Not really significant.
  • I checked with the manufacturer of my CPAP and it draws 80w per hour.
    So, I think you are saying that this is not going to be a problem. Yes?
  • You also need to know how many amps of power can be provided by the plug.
  • > @Sparkylulu said:
    > I checked with the manufacturer of my CPAP and it draws 80w per hour.
    > So, I think you are saying that this is not going to be a problem. Yes?

80w/hr is not a thing.
  • OP probably means 80W. In which case get a 120W inverter for your car and should be fine.