Model 3

Charging in the cold....big cold.

Greetings from North Dakota. I've talked to many of you already in another thread, and I'm super grateful for this community as I make the decision to get my Model 3 in the cold wintered North Dakota. I do have a few questions about charging in the frigid cold. Here is my current set up.

I have access to a 120v standard outlet right outside of the garage as I park outside. I live in a house that is separated into apartments. I am speaking to my landlord about paying to install a NEMA 14-50 outlet. I also have access to a level 2 charger that I will need a CHAdEMO adapter for. My daily commute is about 3 miles to my job and back.

My question is, I don't mind charging at the level 2 station for big charges if I can't get the NEMA outlet installed, but will a 120v outlet be enough to at least keep the battery warm so I don't lose mileage overnight?

Comments

• I’m not an expert on the cold (living in Phoenix), but my understanding is that 120v should be able to maintain battery levels on the coldest days, though you won’t get any charging.
    Someone who knows more than me will be sure to pipe up shortly.
  • Are you going to be able to park in the garage at all? The battery will get cold soaked to the extent that you’ll have very little if any regen, depending on your commute. 120V can generally maintain charge, but won’t keep it warm. It may add miles depending on how cold it is. Prewarming the cabin will consume some battery charge since the 120V won’t suffice. If the battery drops below 30F, it won’t take charge until the temperature us brought up. This can take a significant amount of time. It can take an hour before supercharging will add charge if the battery gets frigid. Makes sense to charge up while the battery is still warm.
  • > @Bighorn said: