Model 3

autopilot confidence indicator

has the idea of a confidence indicator ever come up here or elsewhere? i am new to autopilot and like others, i find overseeing the autopilot to require more mental energy than doing the driving myself. i am sure my comfort level will improve over time but I was thinking it might help if there was some sort of indicator on the display estimating the confidence. for example, all sensors working 100% and the database has seen these road conditions a million times could be a 10 and a foggy night through a construction site could be a 1. how to do it? how about a log scale with probably of crash 1e-10 or lower is a 10, 1e-9 is a 9, etc. something like that, just a thought...

Comments

• You will quickly learn the symptoms capabilities and limitations. I love AP on long drives.
  • Then you would be staring at the indicator instead of watching the road ahead.

All I do is enable AP, put one hand on the wheel and watch the road ahead. It’s actually less stressful because I do not need to focus on staying centered in the lane. When you approach construction just take over.

If a sensor fails or it gets too foggy/rainy it will tell you. No need to worry about confidence levels.
  • Another thing I will say is sometimes AP sees the road markings better than me. Night, rain, or worn lines but the car holds the lane.

Yes in a bad rain storm it surrenders.
  • Totally agree that for long journeys AP is a true friend! Just not having to center the car is a bigger plus and energy saver than you might initially think!
  • The car will warn you when the system is impaired enough that it is detrimental to performance.
  • Someone previously posted that using feedback from your hand on the wheel is good feedback on how AP is doing. If it starts to search a bit you can feel it in the back and forth movement.