Model Y

Does Consumer Reports report mean anything?

I ordered a Y on 11/16 before the CR report came out listing the Y as a "not recommend". Just wondering how valid these reports are in relation to what the Y has to offer. I understand the Y has some issues and I can tolerate it as long as it is cosmetic(can be serviced) and not mechanical or safety-related. Any of you have rectifications that were mechanical versus cosmetic?

Comments

• It bothers me a bit that Tesla is so poorly ranked by CR. I do use CR quite a bit for deciding on appliances and other household items. They are quite trustworthy IMO. I haven't reviewed their reasoning behind the Model Y yet. If it's because of the cosmetic flaws, I am not too concerned (those are easy to screen for at pick up). But, mechanical or computer issues would definitely bother me. Such as the heat not working as people have reported here quite a bit.
  • So, I just did a quick read over at CR (I have a subscription). Looks like they ranked the Model Y poorly on the following 3 issues:
    Paint/Trim
    Body Integrity (squeaks, rattles, seals, leaks)
    Body Hardware (door handles, latches, doors, mirrors, etc)

However, the good news is it ranks it highly in everything else including mechanical, drivetrain, electrical systems, climate, etc.

So, it sounds like it's just reporting on stuff that a lot of us are already aware of. Check your car carefully at delivery and a lot of issues can be avoided it seems.