General

Slight Collision with Rock, no warning

OK, I was turning in a very tight street in Cape Cod, MA a few weeks back in my 2020 Model X. For whatever reason people put these 12" high basketball size rocks on the corners of their driveways. I know to protect sand, I mean lawns. Anyway as I was turning I thought I cleared it, and thought the sensor in front right which is 17" off the ground would have downward range to warn me. Nope, slight tap, dislodged bumper slightly, and scraped the bumper at the 12" line. Any idea why this would not have been picked up? I would have thought the aperture of the sensor would, but I am not an expert of course. This leads me to see how affective their new 'birds-eye view' will be.

Comments

• Make sure you didn’t mute Park Assist chimes. Are you saying there was no visual indication of the rock either? I would think 12” would be high enough to be detected.
  • EVRider - Park assist is always on, but thx. No visual of the rock as I was watching for it, knowing it was there. I am going to try it with a Propane tank to see what happens.
  • Can't answer for X but on the Model 3 I've knocked off a mud guard and bent a wheel because it could not see a 4" curb. It will consistently run over curbs and scrape in the front while the sensors show 12" away.

One of my gripes on Model 3 lack of good 360 system.
  • ^^^Driver error.
  • The sensors work best in detecting flat vertical surfaces such as walls. The way they work (on all cars, not just Tesla) is they send out an ultrasonic sound and listen for the reflection. I expect some rocks will not be detected, especially if it has angles away from the sensor or a porous sound-absorbing surface. The more sound reflective the surface the better it works.