Energy Products

Tesla Forums are now read only. To continue the conversation with the Tesla community visit engage.tesla.com.

New to Solar - App Grid usage not matching PG&E usage

Hi all - I'm new to solar so hoping someone can help me figure out what's going on. Just got my 6.12 kwh system + powerwall installed last week. My issue is the following: The stated 'home' and 'grid' usage in the Tesla app is significantly higher than what I think is reality - reality being what is being reported as my daily usage by PG&E. A few examples:

Thursday - Grid Usage in App: 49.2 kwh, PG&E: 24 kwh
Friday - Grid Usage in App: 61.5 kwh, PG&E: 31 kwh
Saturday - Grid Usage in App: 57.4 kwh, PG&E: 29 kwh
Sunday - Grid Usage in App: 70.7 kwh, PG&E: 35 kwh

As you can see the app is measuring Grid usage as nearly double every day of what PG&E says I'm using. Did something get installed incorrectly? Any help would be much appreciated as I try to figure out how to get this fixed! Thank you

Comments

• Are you sure you're looking at both the "From Grid" *AND* the "To Grid" numbers that the Tesla app reports (scroll to the bottom of the screen)? For example, it may be that you consumed 49.2 kWh from the grid but sent 25.2 kWh back, leaving a net grid use of 24 kWh.
  • As BLD mentions, you need to manipulate the numbers in the app to see what the utility meter sees. Remember that the utility meter doesn't see what your solar produces. It only sees what your solar produces that your home doesn't use directly. What your home uses from the PV doesn't pass through the utility meter. To get a figure that (somewhat) matches the utility meter, you'll need to take the solar production number and *subtract* the home consumption number for that same period. If the result is negative, you'll owe the utility for that amount. If the result is positive, the utility will owe you that amount. It's likely that those amounts will be held by the utility for up to a year, until True-Up.