General

Starting March 15th, Tesla Forums will become read only. To continue the conversation with the Tesla community visit engage.tesla.com.

3 years waiting for a powerwall

I love Tesla. I have bought 4 Tesla cars and have tons of Tesla stock!

However, getting a powerwall installed is one of the most frustrating things ever. I put a deposit and applied over 3 years ago, and still have nothing installed! Despite numerous calls over the years, I get no action from Tesla.

What does it take to get a powerwall installed?

This is a true story — I have been pushing for over 3 years now.

Comments

• Time to move on.
  • I don’t know, it only took a few months to get mine in California.

Where are you?
  • Yeah, where are you? Lots of them in our 'hood; Bay Area California.
  • It's been 6 months for me....very frustrating. I'm in SoCal.
  • I’m in Orange County. Southern California.
  • Shocking development! After 3 years of calling and cajoling and getting nowhere, I got a call from a contractor to schedule the panel upgrade about an hour after posting this!

Really sorry I didn’t complain here sooner! Maybe Tesla will give me a discount for having to spend 3 years trying to get them installed!
  • Panel upgrade? I thought you were waiting for a powerwall?
  • > @lbowroom said:
    > Panel upgrade? I thought you were waiting for a powerwall?

I am waiting for a powerwall, but they have to install a switching panel and panel upgrade first. This is all part of the install.

Surprise! I was scheduled to have it done today and the contractor showed up and promptly cancelled the installation before starting because ‘it might rain’. This is despite a sunny day with the forecast for zero rain the next two days! Aviation weather forecast (which is by far the most accurate — and the most conservative about rainfall) says zero rain.

Tesla management says they can’t control contractors, so I am waiting again.