Model S

Maps disappear- hard to fix

At random times, my maps stop working and tell me to connect to Wi-Fi for new maps. I live in Chicago and my garage has no Wi-Fi. I have a premium subscription. When I move to a Wi-Fi location, maps often take 24hours or longer to download. Why can’t I download to USB or use my premium connectivity. Horrible user experience and safety issue with no maps.

Comments

• Or you can buy ice car go to dealer and pay at least 120 bucks every year to update your maps.
  • > @Mark_Chicago said:
    > At random times, my maps stop working and tell me to connect to Wi-Fi for new maps. I live in Chicago and my garage has no Wi-Fi. I have a premium subscription. When I move to a Wi-Fi location, maps often take 24hours or longer to download. Why can’t I download to USB or use my premium connectivity. Horrible user experience and safety issue with no maps.

You have a garage. Put WiFi in it.
  • My maps auto-zoom seconds after I get it to the scale and location that I select. That bug hasn't been repaired for years. It was too dangerous to keep taking my eyes off the road for that long so I gave up and now use my phone for traffic data.

Traffic data and routing still needs LOTS of work.
  • > @Captain_Zap said:
    > My maps auto-zoom seconds after I get it to the scale and location that I select. That bug hasn't been repaired for years.

It's not a bug; it's a feature!
  • It's only a safety issue because you start the map download but don't it finish. If you didn't start the download, you'd still have maps. Premium Connectivity won't download maps via LTE, and it won't download most software via LTE either.

Like @"grins.va" said, put WiFi in your garage.