Solar Roof

Tesla Forums are now read only. To continue the conversation with the Tesla community visit engage.tesla.com.

Tesla solar roof in NY/NJ metro area

Anyone installed Tesla solar roof installed in NY/NJ metro area ? I just ordered last week and am interested to hear anyone solar roof owner from NY/NJ area...

Comments

• I'm new to the Solar Roof in NY_LI to be exact. It's a good investment, but it worked for me in my instance:
    -Needed a new roof (over 20yrs old)
    -Interested in solar
    -Wanted the roof to look good & modern
    the solar roof fit the needs. I'm slow with producing the process(I documented most of it), but if I can help with any of your questions just let me know...

On the East coast we have 4 seasons so this being my 1rst winter not sure how this system is going to fair. I read alot, did an Inordinate amount of research(there's the roof, the solar part, new technology, seasons, house design and insulation, electricity, grid company, Tesla the company, battery storage, etc)...and it still wasn't enough. The more you ask the better you feel IMO.
    If you're going to do it document as much as you can and segment the processes(the purchase, the design, preparation, demolition, installation, completion, energy production and usability). Of course there's details in all of the intricate processes. No1 prepares you adequately for the process...Just a fair warning... GL
  • Thanks for info GL ! I probably am in a similar situation (need a new roof etc). Ordered 2 weeks back with 16.5Kw with 2 powerwalls and waiting on design from Tesla (advisor told me that will take around 4 weeks or sooner so fingers cross :)). Heard many good and not so good stories on installation and whole process. Would appreciate if you can share your story.