Model 3

Best Insurance Providers for Tesla's

Hello,

I recently have had to get my Model 3's windshield replaced and dealing with my insurance (Liberty Mutual) has been an absolute nightmare. They have been arguing with the Tesla approved dealership for 2 weeks now and the new glass hasn't even been ordered.

Due to this I will be switching providers soon. Can anybody recommend an insurance provider that understands the technology in a Tesla requires special care and wouldn't hold up a windshield replacement for 2 weeks?

Kind regards,
qqqdog

Comments

• There is no one simple answer. It is going to vary based on where you live.
  • Liberty is trying to cut costs to pay for that emu in their commercials.

I would stay away from any insurance company that spends millions upon millions of dollars to get you to believe that they can save you money by charging you less.....
  • How has the Tesla insurance been for the community?

I have been insuring my cars with Amica for 15 years but when we purchased the Model 3 Amica had a higher premium and the coverage seemed better insuring through Tesla wrt FSD, when available.
  • Amica is the best insurance I've ever dealt with, both Auto and Home.
  • I use Costco Insurance. It’s American Family (through Costco). It’s great. My model 3 was 430 for 6 months. I just sold it for a Model Y and it’s less than 400 for 6 months. Every claim we’ve had has gone through great.
  • Been using State Farm in NJ. There was a windshield vs. a rock tossed up by a dump truck incident in early 2019; the windshield lost. We called the insurance company and they suggested Autolite, their preferred vendor. Turned out that, at that time, Autolite (a) didn't have people trained to handle the cameras and (b) couldn't order the windshields, anyway.
    Autolite did have one of their chip repair mobile guys come by right off, but regretfully told us that the chip was too close to the edge of the windshield for repair. Which was good to know.