Model S

Miles per kwh?

edited November -1 in Model S
Okay, I'm really new to this EV stuff so bare w me.
Just a basic question, for basic commute type driving...
What's a typical number of miles per kwh of electric charge?
Thanks..

Comments

• edited November -1
    In my 60 I'm seeing:
    276 (seen today) for really range-enhancing... Not a whole lot of fun. You accelerate slower than a Prius and do 55...
    305 for leisurely, conservative driving.
    370-385 for driving it as spiritedly as I would a Porsche...
  • edited November -1
    i see similar for my 85. trips to higher altitudes use more and the return trips less
  • edited November -1
    Your maximum average speed makes a <i>huge</i> difference.
    Change in altitude or hills makes a huge difference.

Running the A/C on cold, radio, or headlights have negligible impact.
  • edited November -1
    and that is WHr/mile not KWHr/mile :)
    put differently, use .31 KWHr/mile or, at 11 cents per KWHr of energy, 3.4 cents per mile.
  • edited November -1
    Theoretical since everyone else is giving you wh/mile, if the 85 gives you 265 miles, then it would give you about 3.11 miles/kwh. Though that will vary a lot depending on driving habits.
  • edited November -1
    Using lola's stat, it would be 3.22 miles/kwh
  • edited November -1
    In general I get 3.5 miles per kWh. That's driving it like a normal car. Sometimes spirited, sometimes conservatively.
  • edited November -1
    Todd

You can expect somewhere between 2.5 to 3 miles per kwh, obviously your driving style has a major influence. Note that charging efficiency also needs to be factored in (and will reduce these numbers) if you want to calculate how much more energy you'll draw from the utility or your solar panels.
  • edited November -1
    @ToddMG:

Please define what you mean by "Basic commute type driving." Stop and go on the freeway during rush hour, or mostly 70 mph driving plus a few miles of surface streets? Hilly or flat?