Model S

Model S Mirrors Not Opening Fully

edited November -1 in Model S
I'm wondering if this is a common/known problem (or even potentially pilot error)...

I noticed this morning that my one-week old MS mirrors didn't deploy fully, reliably, or consistently. The driver side mirror seemed to stop about 15-20 degrees from fully deployed. Afterward, I realized that the day before, the same thing had happened, but I had chalked it up to poor aiming and had re-aimed the mirror for the partially opened orientation.

When I started playing with it, manually opening and closing the mirrors, I noticed that the left and right mirrors would open inconsistently, sometimes at the partial position, and sometimes fully. They weren't in sync; one could be right and the other wrong. Then when I played with the mirror, I can clearly feel there is a loose range about the same angle range (15-20%) where the mirror moves easily with almost no resistance, which almost feels like a "feature," but I can't imagine what kind of feature.

The temperatures have been unseasonably cold for Seattle (below 32F consistently), but there has been no icing.

Should I just wait for first needed service and report it then?

Comments

• edited January 2017
    There have been a lot of reports of this from recent deliveries. No it should not happen. I would schedule service. In the meantime, extend them out manually and then turn off auto-fold.
  • edited January 2017
    Thanks @mp1156. I kind of need electronic folding because I need to manually fold them when going through the alley to my parking space due to a neighbor's car that is parked badly all the time (and the mirror of which I have already hit and scratched :( ).
  • edited January 2017