Forums

Affording the Tesla Model 3

Affording the Tesla Model 3

Hi everyone,

So I ordered a Tesla Model 3, on the day it was announced. I'm very excited about this car, and I'm sure that it will have huge potential. However, with that, I have one issue, and it's nothing against Tesla at all. but more personal.

So anyhow, I'm still a college student, going for Software Development, so naturally, money is tight. I still have about 2 more years left in school. I spent 4 years at a state university and struggled and am transferring to a local technical college. but I am recently thinking about quitting my job to focus more heavily on my education and get it done, because this is something that I have always struggled with.

Anyways, my worry is that I won't be able to afford the Model 3 when it reaches production and my area the state of Wisconsin. If I am unable to afford the Model 3 when it reaches production will my reservation still hold, and can I chose not to configure my car right way but rather to hold my reservation for a later date, when I can afford the car? Because I really want the car, I'm just not sure that I will be able to afford it when it reaches production.

And if I'm not working by the time the Model 3 comes out, I wouldn't be able to get a car loan.

My work that I'm at right now, the same one that I'm considering quitting, did offer me 8 hours per week during the school year, which is nice, and I am considering, but my work (call center job) is getting a bit dull/boring, so I'm not entirely sure what I am doing yet.

Thank you for you input and advice!

lilbean | 14 July, 2016

Think positively. You will reach your goals. I suppose you could delay the configuration of your vehicle. You will receive an invitation to configure but I don't believe you have to configure right away.

dave.m.mcdonough | 14 July, 2016