Forums

My tire got screwed - repairable?

My tire got screwed - repairable?

I must've run over a screw. I have one embedded in my front right tire:
I took it to a local tire shop (one I have gone to a few times over the years -- no issues).
They said that I would not be able to repair it because the screw is too close to the sidewall.
Take a look:
https://imgur.com/a/5oHi8lP

What do you think?
Do you think they are just trying to sell me a tire?

These are the stock Michelin Primacy MXM4 235/45r18s.
They quoted me $300+shipping to install a new one, which I know is high.

Thoughts?

PECo CT | September 3, 2019

I'm no expert, but I'd plug it and just keep an eye on it.

How many miles does it have on it?

synfendia | September 3, 2019

That's what I'm thinking. Plug it, and move on.
It has 10,800 miles

lilbean | September 3, 2019

I agree with the tire shop.

Magic 8 Ball | September 3, 2019

Shop is watching out for your safety and the liability of an unsafe, illegal, repair.

Syed.Hosain | September 3, 2019

It is definitely too close to the sidewall for an inside patch.

That tire shop is making a good recommendation - I would replace. The final choice is, of course, yours!

What would be illegal about a repair? That you disagree with it?

It would be illegal to repair if the repair is known to be unsafe, that is why the shop is refusing to repair. Industry standards dictate how close a repair can be made to a sidewall. There is nothing preventing someone from attempting such a repair but shops are prevented from doing so resulting from the legal liability associated with such.

gballant4570 | September 3, 2019