Forums

Aluminum Power Cabling for Model 3 - what does this mean?

Aluminum Power Cabling for Model 3 - what does this mean?

I recently read an article on the Teslarati website - "Austrian cable company [name removed] has secured a large order from Tesla for 3,000 kilometers (1,864 miles) worth of aluminum cabling that will be used to connect the Model 3 electric motor with onboard battery pack.". Does this provide any insight in the engineering of the M3? I'm a physician, not an engineer, but I recall problems with aluminum wiring in homes many years ago. What are the tradeoffs of using Al rather than copper? What's used in the S and X? Either way, I trust that Elon and the engineers have this all figured out. I've got two M3's reserved, hopefully early delivery (#8 in line Dublin,CA on 3/31).

alphacompton | March 24, 2017

To my understanding it's not going to be comprising the electric motor coil. the documentary I saw specifically said that it's half a mile of copper wire that's used to make the electric motor coil.
I'm not sure what the other Tesla's use but at the very least I can extract one piece of useful information for us:

What it means, is that the prototype beta's/release candidates probably haven't been built yet.

KP in NPT | March 24, 2017

This article says the aluminum cable is only going to be used to connect the battery to the electric motor. Not for all the wiring in the car.

https://electrek.co/2017/03/21/tesla-model-3-shielded-aluminum-cable/

Magic 8 Ball | March 24, 2017

Al is fine when used properly. I did an internship at SLAC (Stanford linear accelerator) and they used miles of Al conductor (much was hollow core to allow for coolant to flow through).

topher | March 24, 2017