Forums

Tesla 3 : AWD Ordering Question

Tesla 3 : AWD Ordering Question

Hello. I'd like to reserve a 3. But am only interested in the AWD version. I've read the AWD option will not be available right away. So, does this mean I can't or shouldn't reserve? Or should I reserve and then I'll have the option to add AWD by the time my turn comes up for configuring?

Sorry, newbie here.

KP in NPT | April 16, 2017

It means when they start producing AWD cars you will be in the line for one of those.

If you haven't reserved yet, you likely won't get the car before 2019. EM has indicated AWD could be available starting at the end of this year (via tweet.) So if you reserve now it's probably a safe bet that by the time they get to you, AWD will have been available for some time.

mattherrmanndesign | April 16, 2017

Thanks!

Do not listen to the forum troll. He would love nothing more than to dissuade Model 3 orders.

You will not get your car before 2019, in all likelihood, if you reserve now. Wait, and you'll be even further back in line. AWD will be out and the ramp will be far along by the time you get your car. And, the deposit is fully refundable.

akgolf | April 16, 2017

Good advice KP, no reason to wait on ordering.

mntlvr23 | April 16, 2017

@matther -
At this point, no one really knows if there are currently 350,000 reservations, or 400,000 or 600,000.
What is expected, however, is that once there is a final reveal, and as people start hearing about the Model 3 more and start seeing them on the roads - that hundreds of thousands of additional reservations could be added in a short amount of time. So if you are interested, I would reserve as soon as possible, as it is refundable, and there is something to lose by waiting.

SamO | April 16, 2017

Better off buying a Model S or X. The side benefit is that you'all get priority delivery on your Model 3

But the line isn't getting any shorter and it will only get longer when the car is revealed.