Forums

NEMA 14-50 receptacle with stranded wire?

NEMA 14-50 receptacle with stranded wire?

Hi,

I plan to replace a cheap NEMA 14-50 outlet that overheats in one of the pins with the recommended Hubbell HBL9450A receptacle.

When I pulled the old receptacle out I noticed the electrician used 6 AWG stranded wire. The individual wires looked deformed from the stress of the screws. I'm a bit concerned about the connector security if I just screw down the stranded wires to the new receptacle. The last thing I want is a fire caused by a loose connection. Shall I put wire ferrules on the wire before screwing the wires down or it is not a concern at all? I am just a homeowner, not an electrician.

Thanks,

Ken

CharleyBC | August 7, 2018

I'm also not an electrician. But if you think the wire is compromised, I'd be concerned, as you already are. That would include any strands that have broken off, or any that are sort of scored such that their cross section--ability to carry power--is reduced.

Is there a bit of slack? That is, can you cut the deformed part off, strip back a tad, and use fresh wire?

rxlawdude | August 7, 2018

I'm not an electrician, either, but there are lots of electricians' sites out there that discuss. Some claim NEC 310 prohibits stranded below 8AWG, but I don't see that in 310, and the majority of electricians discussing this topic thank their lucky stars for stranded, as pushing thick solid conductors through conduit is a bear.

In other words, stranded shouldn't be a problem. MAKE SURE YOUR RECEPTACLE IS RATED FOR STRANDED CONDUCTORS!

TeslaTap.com | August 7, 2018

Just published a today guide specifically for home wiring that should help (and stranded #6 wire is normal and expected): https://teslatap.com/articles/home-charging-wiring-guide/

I agree with Charley's suggestion too.