Forums

$1,000 to repair 2" deep scratch?

$1,000 to repair 2" deep scratch?

Car was parked while we saw a movie. I have the guy on camera (thank you sentry!) knocking their door into my car (but it's not 100% concrete because it was the back door by the handle - so 98% sure). It was not an intentional scratch. Just sucks all around.

This is my first time dealing with a deep scratch - and it's on the nicest car i've ever owned. My friend that has a model S is telling me that the door will look off unless they redo the entire door.
I called up my insurance (Progressive) and they gave me the scoop. I filed a claim. I got the estimate today and it came back at $1,077.00 to repaint the door.

The Progressive guy was unable to pull the license plate in their systems (despite having it fully in view). I called another Tesla body repair shop (from the website) and they told me that it would be well over $1,000 to fix this scratch because of the labor and that $1,000 is actually a good price. Of course this is a little shocking despite hearing about how expensive services can be... Insurance says this falls under my "collision" deductible, which sadly is $1,000.00.

I have the "basic" midnight grey color. It seems silly to front the $1,000 to get it repaired and *hope* they track the guy down to get their insurance to pay me back.

Thoughts? Anyone have a similar scratch/insurance experience? Do I need to file a police report??

Much thanks. I love this car so much - hate seeing her scarred up already!!

Magic 8 Ball | December 11, 2019

A bit hard to follow.

Can you post the footage?

You have a license plate of the alleged perp but is it your insurance can't or won't run the plate?

You can try filing a police report but it is unclear from your description if you have enough evidence.

Pay the money, get it fixed, move on. No big deal.

Rikki-Tikki-Tavi | December 11, 2019

Painting whole door is not a cheap job

Pepperidge | December 11, 2019