Giga Texas?
Hell yeah 80.6%
Nope 19.4%
37,751 votes · 23 hours left
9:23 PM · Feb 4, 2020·Twitter for iPhone

https://twitter.com/vincent13031925/status/1224928926893346816?s=20

Truck, batteries or all of the above?

Maybe this is what Trump was talking about:

"He’s going to be building a very big plant in the United States. He has to, because we help him, so he has to help us."

https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2020/01/22/donald-trump-elon-m...

sbeggs | February 5, 2020

@SamO,
Steve and I have been talking about a Texas Giga for many months! Ideal for mass producing trucks and batteries and...

SamO | February 5, 2020

Tesla will get red states behind their green energy revolution. Texas is already the renewable wind power leader.

#DriveFree

Wormtown Kris | February 5, 2020

I have mixed feelings.
I know they need to locate in areas that have the workforce to populate the plants- the main reason they aren't building out Giga1 faster is because there aren't enough people out in the Nevada desert.
But Texas is also one of the most anti-Tesla states in the nation. Can you even buy a Tesla in Texas in 2020? I know changing the anti-Tesla laws will be a part of any agreement, but it seems like Texas would be getting rewarded with prestige and tons of good jobs, just for being obstinate. Building a gigafactory is a pretty big bribe to grease the wheels for in-state sales. Why not a metropolitan area in a state that has always welcomed Tesla and sustainable vehicles?

SamO | February 5, 2020

Because changing hearts and minds means spending $ in those locations. Moving a factory to China helps.

Building a factory in Texas for batteries and Cybertrucks gives Texans a reason to root for Tesla.

El Mirio | February 5, 2020

@Wormtown Kris Tesla can sell in Texas without major problems (and service vehicles), customers just are not allowed to order a car at a store but have to order online. Not a big deal at all, unlike Michigan.