Forums

Tips for minimizing Phantom drain

Tips for minimizing Phantom drain

I have been fighting phantom drain for a week or so, and finally managed to get it under control. Heres what i have learned.
My phantom drain was around 1 mile range lost per hour whenever the car was parked and not plugged in.

I had been using the tezlab app to monitor, and then added teslafi as well to try to figure out what is going on. Teslafi gives the detail i needed to figure this out - it basically tells you whenever the state of the car changes (i.e. between drive, park, sleep, charge).

At first teslafi showed that the car was not sleeping at all, which i guessed was the root of the issue. So, i disabled tezlab (by removing the app, and changing my Tesla account password), and avoided opening the Tesla app altogether (still running in background for locking / unlocking). According to Teslafi, the car still did not go to sleep, and the phantom drain was still there. So i started playing with the polling frequency in the Teslafi settings. The default is 1 minute, so I set it to 30 mins, and after a few minutes, sure enough, the car did go to sleep, and there was almost zero phantom drain while in sleep state. Yay!

But, the problem now is if I go on a short drive, less than 30 mins, Teslafi may not realize, and count that loss as range loss during sleep. So, I experimented to find what is the smallest poll frequency that still allows the car to sleep. The answer is 11 minutes. So I am guessing the car waits 10 mins after parking before it goes to sleep. Setting the poll frequency to anything less than 11 mins and the car stays in Park status. I still have the issue that if I go on a short drive less than 10 mins, Teslafi may not log that drive, but at least I cut my phantom drain to almost zero.