Forums

Audio Bluetooth quality

Audio Bluetooth quality

Hi, I just purchased a model 3 and I love it. I do have some issues though with the Bluetooth audio quality. I have a Pixel 3 XL and I subscribe to Google Play, using the high quality streaming option. However, when I compared that to the Slacker audio quality, there is literally no comparison. The Slacker is way better. I also asked my father in law to listen as well since he was an executive at GM for years on the audio team, and he agreed immediately. I know that Bluetooth compresses a lot but the difference was remarkable.

So, I began looking into Slacker options, and I couldn't figure out if it's worth buying the premium plans (either $3 or $10 a month depending on if you want on demand or not). Is the Slacker on the model 3 already one of the premium packages or do I have to purchase it? And if I do purchase it, will I even notice the difference since the streaming rate on the Model 3 is limited (I forget how much).

I like Google play, and I have the family plan so my son and wife and father in law use it to so I would hate to cancel it (and Slacker doesn't offer family plans), but it's literally a waste of money listening to audio BT in the Model 3. Any other options?

Thanks.

EVRider | December 27, 2018

The Slacker account that Tesla provides is a Slacker Plus account. If you upgrade to your own Slacker Premium account, you’ll get additional features such as playlists, but I don’t know if the sound quality will be noticeably better — probably not.

marlon | December 27, 2018

I too have noticed a big difference between streaming music on my iPhone over bluetooth and the same song on Slacker. For an experiment, I downloaded the Slacker app on my iPhone and played the same song on both. The song on my iPhone slacker app was a lot closer the the slacker song played via M3 integration.

My guess is that Slacker is using some kind of spatializer and something that makes the bass a bit more "bouncy"