Forums

$6,000 to upgrade from EAP?

$6,000 to upgrade from EAP?

I have a Model 3 with Enhanced Auto-Pilot. After reading lots of posts, articles and confusing web pages to figure out how much it should cost me to upgrade to FSD, I think I should be paying no more than $3,000.00. However, when I navigate to the Tesla upgrade page to check the price (while logged in), it shows $6,000 for my car. I've not been able to get someone at Tesla to talk to me about this. Any insight from saavy owners?

M3BlueGeorgia | July 12, 2019

Are you allowed to upgrade directly from EAP to FSD?

I'm still faced with the Tesla website bug that wants me first to buy AP for $2K before being allowed to buy FSD for $6K.

... and yes I've been communicating with Tesla for nearly 5 months asking them to fix this bug in their website.

Bighorn | July 12, 2019

It was probably $3k when you could have originally configured it and $4k post production. They’ve since offered a reduced $2k upgrade which was time-limited. It climbed to $6k soon thereafter.

scherer326 | July 12, 2019

not worth it for $6k at present time, need another fire sale again. :-)

mazers | July 12, 2019

Agree with @Bighorn. Last June, I ordered with EAP for $5k and did not order FSD at the $3k price. After delivery, it went to $4k, until the 'sale' this March I believe when it was $2k. I bought it then, and darn glad I did. I remember that Elon said that it would go up after that, so $6k might be the correct price now. A bit steep for those who already have EAP, as far as total investment goes (AP/EAP plus FSD).

jjgunn | July 12, 2019

Ha ha....You LOSE!!

Heh heh J/K

Keep working it. Waiting for the $3k Black Friday sale

jimglas | July 12, 2019

I wonder how much the new hardware costs? That and software development account for the cost.

Joshan | July 12, 2019

So glad I snuck in when it was on sale for 2K. I acutally paid 3k, but they refunded me 1k of it after Elons tweet.

gballant4570 | July 12, 2019