Forums

Windshield Sandpitting

Windshield Sandpitting

What is the best glass treatment to prevent sand pitting? In the desert this is a real problem and the X windshield is way too expensive not to take this very seriously.

darlin | March 8, 2016

All I have ever heard of was polishing the sand pits away. I have never seen a treatment to prevent pitting.

mathwhiz | March 8, 2016

Similar to paint protection film (PPF), I've seen cars with the windshield equivalent, although I have no personal experience with glass protection... I have 3M XPEL Ultimate PPF on my S, which has been just great. But I wish I had investigated glass protection before I got all the deep windshield pits from rocks kicked-up by tractor-trailers. :-(

raging.dragonfly | March 9, 2016

I hadn't thought of windshield protection before, but we live in the Great North Wet, where it seems that gravel kicked up by vehicles in front of you is a very common occurrence. In the time I have lived up here (since 1997), I have replaced 2 windshields, and my husband needs to replace his. He hasn't bothered to do so before now, but it's getting bad - his windshield was cracked when I met him in 2002, and has since gotten a couple more big pits and the crack has extended. It's time. We will be looking into windshield protection!

vperl | March 9, 2016

Dessert people, move out of Iran, Syria, SAUDI.

SECOND thought park vehicle in solid structure, do not travel in sandstorms.

MyXinTx | March 9, 2016

Gotta admit, adding an external windshield film is not a bad idea...However, things to consider

* Will the company provide any warranty?
* Could exposure to elements result in premature peeling?
* How much and how often needs to be replaced? Could be a huge revolving cost...or great value
* Will Windshield wipers glide smoothly?

Any experience out there?

vperl | March 10, 2016

Get great glass coverage insurance

Solved.

carlgo | March 10, 2016