Forums

Charging the batteries while in motion

Charging the batteries while in motion

I've been thinking about how Tesla could improve the range the cars on a singular charge for those who drive long distances but want to save on gas. What i would like to know is, normal gasoline cars use alternators to charge their batteries while they are driving, so why couldn't Tesla cars use a similar form of this? Where an electric generator is spun via the axles of the car moving. I am by no means an electrician or know how this could be an issue for the batteries, but my thought is. If you have four small electric generators near each wheel, while the car is moving a belt (like on an alternator for gas cars) would rotate it, producing electric charge. This in turn could be fed into a backup battery for the car or into the main one (depending on the model and issues with that) Like I said i am by no means an electrician but its just something I could see working to increase the range of a singular charge from Tesla's batteries.

jordanrichard | August 17, 2017

Ummmmm, ok.

First of all, your knowledge of hos a gasoline car works is some what incorrect. when a gas car starts, the battery supplies the power for the starter to literally crank the engine over. (aka start). Once the engine is running, the alternator doe in fact recharge the battery, but the primary purpose of the alternator is to provide a continuing source of electricity to run all the electrical components of the car. The car's battery is in the loop of this circuit. Meaning everything electronic is being fed from the battery, which is constantly being charged by the alternator. It's not as if the alternator charges the battery back up and then stops when the battery is full.

EVs, but more specifically Tesla do recharge via the wheels, but only when you are going down hill or when you left off the accelerator.