Forums

Driving In California HOV lanes without bumper decals.

Driving In California HOV lanes without bumper decals.

In California, can we legally use the HOV lane if our car is registered with the state as a CAV and we elect not to affix the decals to our bumper? In other words, has anyone been cited for lack of decals and was it enforceable?

dannywells | March 20, 2018

When I received the California HOV decals the directions where to put all four decals on the back bumper. Two large and two small on the left and right. I thought this was a little overkill. I called a friend who oversees a CHP office and asked if I just put one sticker on would I be okay. His reply was "No CHP officer would ever pull over a Tesla in the HOV lane."

Now he wasn't quoting the code book, but hope this helps. I opted to put just one of the small stickers on the back right rear bumper, which is hardly noticeable. I've been driving in HOV lanes for over 3 years now and never have had an issue.

patrick40363 | March 20, 2018

It is a very expensive ticket if you get pulled over. Put the stickers on and you will not have to worry about it.

TranzNDance | March 20, 2018

I put a sticker in the black part of the bumper. It's not noticeable, but it's visible if a cop wants to confirm that the car is eligible. I figure it's a compromise of not uglifying the car too much, and not getting pulled over and wasting the time savings to show my paperwork.

SoCal Buzz | March 20, 2018

I have found that 1 sticker will suffice, even when being pulled over for "other" reasons. Given that EVs must register and pay the $8 or whatever, you could be ticketed for not having one.