Forums

Hands on Steering wheel - still got a "NAG"

Hands on Steering wheel - still got a "NAG"

Was driving home city streets, about 9pm, turned on FSD, doing fine, except for unusually hard breaking at stop signs, set speed to 20mph, accelerated to 30 with pedal. Take foot off accelerator about 50 yards from stop sign, car continues to stop sign with no de-acceleration - then HARD stop at stop sign. Touched accelerator to proceed, that's when I got the first NAG - my hands were on the steering wheel, never took hands off steering wheel. Continued to next stop sign then I got a really hard nasty NAG and the car shuts down FSD for remainder of my trip home. WTF!! I am just learning I assume the car is 'just learning' too. Mind you, my hands were ALWAYS on the steering wheel, never took them off. When I got home parked in the garage, I did a HARD Re-boot. So we'll see what happens tomorrow. I expected even a BETA release to be better than this. Crazy stuff.

M-A-B-MCMLXXX | 28/05/2020

“ Continued to next stop sign then I got a really hard nasty NAG ”

What’s that? I’ve never been Nagged other than visually.

andre | 28/05/2020

First suspicion: what does it mean to you to "have your hands on the wheel"? Merely touching the wheel is insufficient. The car is looking for a little torque on the wheel. When the first message comes up to remind you, you need to apply a little turning force to the wheel. Not a lot, as the car will interpret that as you wanting to take over control. As soon as it sees enough, the message will go away. If the car doesn't feel that turning force after a while (I don't know how long, I've never let it get that far), then you'll get kicked out of FSD.

If you are slightly resisting the car adjusting the path, then it will not get to the point where it needs to nag you.

vmulla | 29/05/2020

+1 @andre

And ease your explanations, the FSD software is in the first few iterations since shadow mode.

M3phan | 29/05/2020