Forums

Charging outlet in garage

Charging outlet in garage

I have a 10-30 dryer outlet in my garage, outlet is rated 30 amps the panel box has 50 amp breaker's with number six wire going to the outlet no neutral wire, no room to add neutral wire, I've seen 10-30 adapter but it is recommended to drop amps to 25 amped when charging

Bighorn | 17/11/2016

24 amps--I've used one for 3 years, but I have the Tesla adapter that drop current automatically.

jordanrichard | 17/11/2016

I am not an electrician but if the breaker in indeed rated for 50 amps, you might be able to have an electrician just swap out that 10-30 outlet for the 14-50 and you already have that adapter.

dave.m.mcdonough | 17/11/2016

If you have to ask, then don't do it.

If that was a 30A circuit then it was ran with 10AWG wire and will NOT support 50A. You need to run at least 6AWG.. and yes it's way more expensive, 0% chance you will get lucky and have it already there.

Haggy | 17/11/2016

If you had the neutral wire, it would be easy to swap the breaker and outlet, assuming the wiring isn't an exceptionally long run that would require a heavier gauge. Since that's not the case, you have a few choices. A dryer outlet will add 17 miles of range per hour, and for the average US driver, that will mean a bit over two hours each night to charge. An eight hour charge will give you 136 miles. So if you have a 215 mile battery, you could get down to about 57 miles of range, start charging at 11 pm, and be up to 90% by 7 am. If you don't have time of use rates, charging starting at 9 pm would be more than enough to handle things even if you get down to a range so low that it's risky to go lower.