Forums

Train customers so they can take service calls

Train customers so they can take service calls

When I heard that Tesla is hiring 1400 new tech to ramp up support with the number of customer, I realized I was interested to know more about my Tesla.

I am a professional engineer and like a lot of my friends, this new car, designed and built in America, make us proud. I think there is a big customer base in Tesla composed of young, motivated and educated fellows. I would not leave my computer engineering job to be a Tesla tech but I would sure get some training and answer calls to help other Tesla customers.

Why not offer a training by level with certificates to allow motivated customers to be able to answer service calls for Tesla. We get rated on the service we give and we get some kind of retribution for our help. We see that online on forums of all kind and it's crazy how people are willing to help and how much time they spend doing it, especially if they get recognition for it.

Imagine you receive the calls that suit your expertise level within some radius of your location. You can take it or ignore it, one thing is sure is that service calls would get answers lot more quickly.

Just an idea to leverage the huge enthusiasm Tesla has generated.

reed_lewis | 18/07/2017

The issue is that you basically become an employee of Tesla, and they would have to pay you a salary, etc. There is vetting involved before they hire you, and say if you have a disgruntled customer who is answering calls gives wrong answers all the time before they catch on, you might alienate a bunch of customers.

I do not see it happening.

lilbean | 18/07/2017

Isn't that what they created this forum?

l.laforest | 18/07/2017

The customer in trouble can accept help or not. If he wants to wait for the official Tesla Tech, a time frame will be given and the choice is his.