Forums

Unacceptable condition of a new MS 2017 P100D Ludicrous

Unacceptable condition of a new MS 2017 P100D Ludicrous

On Wednesday December 6. I took delivery of a new, 6 miles, Tesla. After doing a walk through, the car was brought around for handover. At that time a gouge in the paint behind the left rear tire plus some orange peel from an obvious prior paint repair. I took the car to Signature Custom Wraps of Ft. Lauderdale, Fl. for a preplanned Ceramic Pro treatment and wrap of the hood and front end. I have been restoring motor vehicles since 1970 and am considered an expert in paint jobs, so I asked Michael of Signature Wraps his opinion. The car was returned to Tesla and the following morning I was called and said the car was ready for pickup. My response; are you serious ? It is Impossible to paint color and at least 2 coats of clear in 12 hours. I made it clear I wanted a loaner, which I received, and left. When the paint job is acceptable I will take delivery of the car. I live in Key West and I will be contacting my attorney when I get back. Not a very got level of treatment for a repeat customer let alone new customer.

hipresr | 08/12/2017

Sounds like my delivery ordeal that i backed out of. For $140k that car better have zero flaws, which it did not, and like yours did not either. Mine had scratched bootlid, scratch down pass rear door and fisheyes on the front hood. Tesla tried to make it right by wanting to re-paint a "new " car. Hell to the no! Backed out and never looked back, to what would be the most nightmarish experience's i have ever had with a purchase of a "new" car.

rgrant | 08/12/2017

Not sure why you took delivery if there was an obvious defect?

pagrimm1 | 09/12/2017