Forums

Can Autopilot hardware v1.0 be upgraded to v2.0 - Looking at some pre-owned Model-S

Can Autopilot hardware v1.0 be upgraded to v2.0 - Looking at some pre-owned Model-S

Hello folks,

Tesla noob here.
I was looking to jump into the E-Bandwagon. Having owned a lowly C-Max before, can definitely see the benefits of an electric car.

I was looking at some of the pre-owned ones on Tesla's website (Ex: 2016 Model S 90D) that says Autopilot hardware (i assume v1.0)
When i spoke to the advisors, they indicated that v1.0 has only 4 cameras (vs v.2.0 that is supposed to have 8 cameras) and hence Enhance Autopilot and in the future full-self driving cannot be enabled on those vehicles.

Looking at a similarly equipped mileage 2017 model S, the price jumps up by atleast 25k.
I understand that it is a model year newer and perhaps the price you pay for Autopilot v2.0, but that difference is ridiculous.

I wanted to confirm that older models (like the one i was looking at that has the 1.0 hardware) cannot be upgraded (both software/hardware) to the Enhanced Autopilot option.

TIA

murphyS90D | 16. maaliskuu 2019

AP 1.0 has 1 camera and can't be upgraded.
2016 is a special case. The switch from 1.0 to 2.0 hardware happened toward the end of 2016.

Tldickerson | 16. maaliskuu 2019

I have a June 2016 P90D with AP1 and love it. Works great for everyday freeway driving. Myself I wouldn't even think about paying extra for AP2 or AP2.5. If you can get one that still has V8 software I would get that one too and don't even update to V9.

inconel | 16. maaliskuu 2019

AP 1.0 actually has 2 cameras while 2.0 has 8. It can't be upgraded.
1.0 does not do advanced autopilot such as auto-lane change or navigate on autopilot, but the traffic aware cruise control and auto-steering of 1.0 is as good as 2.0.

TeslaTap.com | 16. maaliskuu 2019