Forums

I know fanboys will say its me

I know fanboys will say its me

They use the right stalk for too much and instead should just put a column drive/neutral/reverse somewhere else (preferably on the console).

I am a fairly tech savy guy, but even I get thrown off by the magic stalk that does too much. For instance today i had to do an emergency stop while in full auto. I smashed on the brakes and came to a stop. Before when I had done this I’m pretty sure it reverted to simple cruise control, so i flip the right stalk up to cancel whatever mode it was in but yeah, I didn’t look to see if it switched into reverse. Of course it did because I guess my delayed process didn’t account for the car coming to a full stop when I did that. A few seconds later I pressed the pedal to go and, whew, caught it before I smacked the car behind (thankfully i was in chill mode). So while the fanboys will all act like have NEVER done something like that, no doubt lying, Id like to say it’s a danger to have too much on one stalk like that. What other car has that much contradictory things on one stick. PS, I still occasionally push down to go into reverse for some reason but I admit that might just be me.

vmulla | 15. marraskuu 2019

That magic stalk is awesome, and I love it the way it is.

M3phan | 15. marraskuu 2019

So I guess saying “it’s you” runs the risk of me being a fanboy... ; ) But jamming the brakes *always* fully cancels AP, including TACC, always.

Mike UpNorth_ | 15. marraskuu 2019

I have no idea what you're talking about.
But I guess now that you mention it the right stalk does do a lot of stuff.

Magic stalk, good term though.

@M3phan,
What? you're not a fanboi?

lbowroom | 15. marraskuu 2019

Yes, touching the brake cancels everything, always. Just like it does on every Mercedes which has the same stalk control

tanya™ | 15. marraskuu 2019

Are fangirls allowed to speak? I find it odd to be able to use right stalk to confirm switching lanes.