Forums

New homes will be required to have solar panels and an EV outlet

New homes will be required to have solar panels and an EV outlet

http://www.eastbaytimes.com/2017/05/03/fremont-to-require-solar-panels-e...

So far it's just Fremont but how much longer can it be before the national electric code is updated to require a n EV outlet in garages?

DTsea | 03. toukokuu 2017

A looooooong time.

mark.willing | 04. toukokuu 2017

I don't know about making it a requirement or code,...but I think if I were a developer,...it would be a great marketing tool. Most people I speak to love the idea of having solar power, but right now haven't "pulled the trigger" on making it a reality for themselves. Now, let's say I am a developer building a neighborhood of new homes,...and I have to compete with other developers doing the same. If I could market my homes as just that more energy efficient or even energy independent,...it would the the competitive edge I would need to sell.

J.T. | 04. toukokuu 2017

@mark>>>>Now, let's say I am a developer building a neighborhood of new homes,

Where? Arizona, Hawaii, Maine, Alaska? Making people in Ketchikan pay for a solar roof is just silly. They get over 300 days of rain a year.

jordanrichard | 04. toukokuu 2017

J.T. +1. Here in New England, most homes are shaded by tall oak and maple trees. If you were to Google earth my neighborhood, it looks like I live under a bushel of broccoli.

Watt fun | 04. toukokuu 2017