Forums

NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 30 AMP outlet

NEMA 14-50 outlet on a 30 AMP outlet

I am a newbie here and not an electrician - so please forgive my dumb questions.

I need a couple of queries answered, I thought I'd ask before going to the electrician.

1. Can the NEMA 14- 50 outlet run on a 30 AMP outlet? I understand that it slow charging at 24 AMPS, better than 4 miles /hr on a regular outlet? Are there any other concerns?

2. This outlet is shared with drier. I am not sure if I can use the unused outlet. The conduit comes in and splits up in the two boxes. One is used by the drier, and the other one is closed (un-used).

I know them sounds dangerous. But, I am out of breaker spots in my box, and my main is on the other side of the garage. Adding a separate breaker box or adding in from the main would cost me a couple of thousands. And moreover, if an electrician has provided an additional outlet box, I would assumed it can be used.

Yodrak. | 7 mars 2019

I won't comment on having two 30 amp devices on one 30 amp circuit, it seems you already know to not run both at the same time, but why don't you leave the unused outlet as it is and get the appropriate 30 amp adapter for your charging cable?

TeslaTap.com | 7 mars 2019

No, it is not safe to instal a 50 amp outlet on a 30 amp circuit. You could install a NEMA 14-30 on a 30 amp breaker and get the Tesla 30 amp adapter. Code only allows one high power outlet per breaker. You can't just stick two 30 amp outlets on the same circuit. The idea is they don't want any scenarios were you can blow the breaker, which would occur if you charge the car and run the dryer at the same time. While you might know not to do this, someone else may not be aware of the improper configuration.

Here's a bit more on all the outlets available: https://teslatap.com/articles/home-charging-wiring-guide/#connectors