Forums

Home Charging

Home Charging

Hi people,

I have a reservation for a Model 3, as many of you may have, but am curious about home charging. I live in an older house (1960~) with family and one thing that worries me is not being able to home charge (albeit, fast) due to the age and wiring. Are there any issues that would come with having an older house? For the Tesla-installed home chargers, is it accurate that it pulls around 40-50 amps? I am no electrician and have no clue on how most of it works, but basically even using a microwave with a vacuum trips a breaker and I've had to put stuff like my PC behind UPS, and I am assuming trying to charge a Tesla would do the same. Someone please correct me if I am totally wrong, which I hope..

Do the home chargers have any option for an extended cable? Basically I wouldn't have the vehicle in a garage all the time, very rarely, so it would be a hassle to have to park it in the garage to charge it due to our garage layout, the fact that it's on the opposite side of the house as the main breaker, and there's not much space. It would be easier to have an extended cable to use. I have seen many people with home chargers in videos but never much more than what is stock. Right now I'm more set on just using superchargers since they're pretty close and would probably be faster and more convenient since I don't drive much locally.

Earl and Nagin ... | 29 décembre 2017

If it is anything like the Roadster, S, or X, you should be able to slow the charge rate down to 16, or 24 amps. You may be able to manage. You may want to upgrade the electrical service into your house though, especially since you may want to get another EV in the future or charge faster, in addition to avoiding the other gremlins you seem to be living with. This will probably cost $1,000 or more -- consult a good, local electrician.

TheMikeA | 29 décembre 2017