Forums

Three Windshield Replacements in 6 months | Advice Appreciated

Three Windshield Replacements in 6 months | Advice Appreciated

Hi All - So I've had my Model 3 LR RWD for almost a year now (10/18 Production Date). Car has been great but the windshield keeps cracking from regular road debris.

My original windshield cracked from impact in May 2019. I got it replaced at the service center. The replacement one cracked in August 2019. I got that replaced at the service center again. Both times there was impact (small rock on high away) but the actual impact location was a very small chip. However, in both case it cracked all the way to the edge so it could not be sealed by someone like Safelite.

Three months later, the windshield has cracked again. There is a small chip again indicating impact but it's cracked all the way to the edge again. I've been driving the same roads and highway commute for the last 7-8 years. My old car was a BMW 3 series and I never had a single chip on the windshield. I'm at a point now where it's really hard to believe that it's just bad luck.

Any advice on what I should do? I already reached out to the service center but I doubt they will do anything (the 2nd time they said since its impact its not a defect). I know I can go to zero deductible on glass insurance but it can't all be chance if it's 3 times in 6 months :( I love the other car otherwise but whatever I'm saving on gas/maintenance seems like it will just go towards windshield replacements at this point.

FISHEV | 24 octobre 2019

Sounds like the car is putting pressure on the windshield such that the stress is there and all it takes to crack it is a small impact. Not sure how’d you’d prove it though or fix it. A wind deflector but I’ve never seen one on a Tesla.

How much to replace the windshield. With those front cameras, sometimes the car mfg has special glass and it can be pricey.

ADinM3 | 24 octobre 2019