Forums

Battery Discharges Without Driving

Battery Discharges Without Driving

Has anyone experienced this before? I upgraded to the new 2019.40.50.1 7fefc12d805a on 26th and my car fully charged yesterday at about 1:00pm. It has been sitting in my garage and to my surprise this morning the battery has discharged to 282 miles from 294. And tonight, it has gone done to 269 mile (10.05pm) without driving the car since it was charged.
This is my first time of experiencing this since i bought the car. Does anyone knows what could be going on? Or what i need to do to stop continuous lost of miles while the car is packed?

mikefa | 30 décembre 2019

Depending on your ambient temperature, losing 6-12 miles or more during the winter season is normal because the battery is used to maintain the optimum operating temperature of the battery itself.

jfemd.va.us | 30 décembre 2019

First, I assume your car was not fully charged (100%) and then not driven. That is not recommended for the health of the battery.
Is Sentry mode on? Owners have reported that it can consume up to one mile per hour of charge.
What's the temperature in your garage? The car has to use some of the charge to keep the battery warm.

dougk71 | 30 décembre 2019

Tesla provides little information as to power draw.There is the self discharge within the main battery.There is battery management ( keeping the battery battery warm/cool and balancing the cells). Then there are auxiliary functions sentry mode is often an issue. It can and most often should be turned off in a secure home garage. Tesla did belatedly address this and there is an option to disable sentry mode when parked in selected locations.
An often sought after feature for extended airport parking would be a max power saving mode upon owner command and not just at the 20% of battery automatic level. Perhaps Tesla will add this in a future update.

EVRider | 30 décembre 2019