Forums

Why Tesla Is Betting On Cameras For Full Self-Driving

Why Tesla Is Betting On Cameras For Full Self-Driving

I almost never look at Seeking Alpha articles as they are usually garbage created by Tesla shorters. This one caught my eye and is overall positive and brings up some excellent points, especially about LIDAR. One of the more reasoned articles I've come across.

https://seekingalpha.com/article/4106093-tesla-betting-cameras-full-self...

Madatgascar | 12 septembre 2017

Why I am betting against cameras for full self-driving:
1. They will never know what to look for the way a human brain does.
2. They won't stay clean - human eyes blink constantly to stay clean.
3. They can't make eye contact with other drivers or pedestrians, or exchange hand signals.
4. I've been using AP for two years now, limitations of the forward cameras are really obvious.

I just haven't figured out how I can make money betting against this. It's so obvious to me that FSD is impossible in the near term. I don't want to bet against TSLA, because I know they will do incredible things. I think that by pushing for the impossible, Elon and his team will develop the best possible. People are inclined to appreciate innovation and (especially in the case of Tesla) forgive any shortcomings. But I would place a pretty big bet against FSD by 2019. Even 2029 would surprise me.

1jetskier7 | 12 septembre 2017

"There are several moving parts to the debate about LIDAR. The first and least controversial question is whether LIDAR is better than no LIDAR, all else being equal. Everyone agrees on this. If cheap, compact LIDAR existed today that didn't impact a car's appearance or add significant cost, my guess is that Tesla would include it in its cars. My guess also is that once cheap, compact LIDAR is available, Tesla will add it to its cars."

So currently, profit trumps safety?