Forums

First Winter with my S: battery questions

First Winter with my S: battery questions

I purchased a model S in the spring and am heading into my first winter with the car and trying to understand how cold temps affect range and battery.

We had a cold night in the teens last night. I got in the car this morning showing 97 miles of range, drove one mile to go shopping and the car showed 92 miles of range. I shopped for an hour and the car showed 88 miles of range. I drove one mile back home and went back out 3 hours later and the car showed 80 miles of range. The 30 mile average was showing ~450wh/mi. Temps were around 30.

Again, i am a winter Tesla newbie, so perhaps this is normal. Basically, i am trying to figure things out and set expectations as far as range in colder temps.

Does the above seem normal?

Should i be expecting to lose 5mi every time i stop the car for a bit, and another 10+ each cold night?

Bighorn | 12 décembre 2019

In the winter, I plug in at night and keep a higher SOC than in the summer. Scheduling the charge to happen right upon morning departure will help warm the battery. A cold soaked battery uses a lot of energy to heat itself. Garages are very helpful if it keeps the battery from assuming outdoor temps.

nbrianjohnston | 12 décembre 2019

Perfectly normal. Cold weather usually decreases available range in the pack by +/- 20%. Preconditioning the car, to warm the battery a bit before you leave helps, but in winter you will use more energy because the battery has to be kept warm. You may also be running your heat, headlights, windshield wipers, rear defrost, etc.

garyjtate | 12 décembre 2019

Plug it in.....

AERODYNE | 12 décembre 2019

Colder temps also mean the air is more dense, increasing air drag.

Having an app like teslafi will show you if your range is limited by cold. You will see a lower battery percentage in blue text.

When it warms up, you will regain a percentage point or two, less phantom drain....