Forums

Tire rotation for longer life on X possible?

Tire rotation for longer life on X possible?

Sounds like the tires on X are not the same and so rotation is not possible, from what I heard on the M3 forum. So, do we expect lower life or is there some level of rotation possible to keep the tires lasting longer?

lilbean | 31 maggio 2018

I wish. My tires are lasting longer by not driving it.

burdogg | 31 maggio 2018

mejo - I am no tire expert, at all :) My previous AWD vehicles tires were never rotated and never had a problem with them - they all wore evenly.

I thought AWD really didn't need tire rotation - so it wouldn't really matter with the X being staggered, as it is AWD. Anyone out there, please correct my ignorance if I am wrong :)

lilbean | 31 maggio 2018

Hmm. Sounds good to me, burdogg!

mathwhiz | 31 maggio 2018

True, tires on Model X are diff sizes front to back so you can't rotate them that way... And also true, dual motor does reduce differential wear seen on rears v fronts of RWD models.

The only issue on the X is the slight negative camber scrubbing that happens when the suspension is set to low (or worse, very low), which is what Tesla recommends to reduce excessive wear on the front half-shafts. :~

Tropopause | 31 maggio 2018

Zoinks! A canundrum!

Vawlkus | 1 giugno 2018

You CAN get the same sized tires installed if you want to. I did for my winter tires, but I think I’ll keep the offsets for my summers.

jjgunn | 1 giugno 2018

Buy a 2nd set of 4 - 2 for the front & 2 for the back.

Rotate every 10k. Simple!!

Tessyred | 1 giugno 2018

Anybody have a ballpark figure on expected mileage on a set of tires for a Mx100. Mine has 8,500 miles with no measurable ware.

lilbean | 1 giugno 2018

Haha, jjgunn!

mejo | 4 giugno 2018