Forums

Model X owner feedback

Model X owner feedback

Hi group,

I am a journalist working on a story about the Model X. Would anyone like to share their thoughts about the vehicle quality (suspension, handling, brakes, reliability, gullwing doors, etc.) or overall driving experience of the Model X? Additionally, would anyone like to share their experiences using Autopilot? As Model X owners, your feedback is valuable and appreciated. Thanks!

ericswalz | 5 maggio 2017

Please feel free to post your feedback here. Thanks!

inconel | 5 maggio 2017

When writing the article please note that it is falcon wing door because of the double hinges.

Civilpe | 5 maggio 2017

Hi Eric, I just posted my experience related to my first annual service. I am an engineer and, considering that I am among the early adopters, have been pleasantly surprised by the Model X quality. Have autopilot hardware (AP1) installed but have not yet paid to activate the software.

Brakes and sensors have been working without issues. Earlier this week, the car detected a potential accident and provided an audio and visual alert when the vehicle in front of the vehicle that I was following suddenly slowed down to make an illegal u-turn under a freeway bridge. I was able to stop at the same time as the vehicle in front of me, avoiding an accident that could have occurred due to reaction time. The driver that made the sudden illegal turn had to stop and backed up as his pick up truck did not have the turning radius to make the turn.

This was the second time that this feature worked as intended. The first time was during a rain storm on the freeway. The Model X applied the brakes when traffic suddenly stopped in wet conditions. The car behind me pulled to the shoulder and narrowly avoided a rear end collision. It felt as if the Model X stopped just as fast as it accelerates.

ericswalz | 6 maggio 2017